

CHILDREN'S PEACE LITERATURE AWARD

The *Children's Peace Literature Award* is a national biennial award made to one or more Australian authors of a children's book that encourages the non-violent resolution of conflict or promotes peace at the global, local or interpersonal level.

The award particularly focuses on books in which the main character resolves conflict through actively choosing constructive non-violent methods.

Literature has a significant effect on children's attitudes and behaviour. As our children live in a world where violence and hostility are still widespread, it is important to present them with constructive alternatives and to highlight the power they have to influence positive outcomes through their actions.

The Award is for \$2000 and is organised by the South Australian Branch of *Psychologists for Peace*, an interest group of *The Australian Psychological Society*.

Psychologists for Peace aims to recognise authors who promote peaceful resolution of conflict in their books and to encourage and publicise these books so that children have peaceful models on which to base their own behaviour.

Award winners and shortlisted authors are selected by a combined panel of psychologists and children's literature experts.

Books selected have appealed to a wide range of ages from primary school to young adults.

The inaugural winner in 1987 was SA author Gillian Rubinstein for her first novel Space Demons.

2009 SHORT LIST

Audrey Goes to Town – Christine Harris (Little Hare Books)

Cassie – Barry Jonsberg (Allen and Unwin)

Finding Darcy – Sue Lawson (Black Dog Books)

Ishmael and the Return of the Dugongs – Michael G Bauer (Omnibus)

Josie and the Michael Street Kids – Penni Russon (Penguin)

Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley – Aaron Blabey (Penguin)

Winter of Grace – Kate Constable (Allen and Unwin)

A summary of the 2009 winning and short-listed books will soon be available (as well as previous short lists and winners) at http://www.groups.psychology.org.au/pfp/

