Psychology in the Public Sector

Committee Information


Dr Clare Ramsden
Dr Clare Ramsden works as a Clinical Neuropsychologist and A/Manager of Psychology Services in the Tasmanian Health Service, Hobart. She has been involved in establishing the Psychology in the Public Sector Interest Group, and is Secretary for the Tasmanian branch of the College of Clinical Neuropsychologists. Clare's clinical interests are primarily in neurorehabilitation and acquired brain injury.


Ms Joanna Cole
Jo Cole is a Clinical Psychologist based in the ACT. She has a background in infant, child, adolescent and family mental health and has worked in range of clinical and project roles in both the public and private sectors.

Her current role is as the Clinical Educator for Psychology in ACT Health, coordinating clinical placements for psychology students and supporting education and professional development for the psychology workforce. She has a particular interest in Clinical Supervision.


Ms Mary-Ann Barfod
Director, Department of Human Services Assessment Services.
Based on Gold Coast, Queensland.
Registered Psychologist with 25 years of counselling, clinical and organisational psychology practice.
Transformational leader and consultative manager in health and allied health services and employment services for 20 years.
Supervisor Griffith University Organisational Psychology Masters Program 2014 -2015.
Honorary Teaching Fellow, Bond University 2008 - 2010.

Committee Member

Mrs Kerrie Counihan
State-wide Program Manager Psychology Clinical Education and Training in Queensland Health.
Kerrie has a clinical background in Mental Health, in varying positions within the public sector and non- government sector over a 25 year period, more recently holding strategic workforce development positions in Queensland health as State-wide Professional Practice Leader for Mental Health and currently providing strategic management of the QH psychology education program, working on education and workforce port folios around education capacity, quality, support and sustainability. Kerrie’s interest lies in psychology leadership in the public sector and supporting psychologists to work to their full scope of practice.

Committee Member

Assoc Prof Christopher Willcox
I’m Head of Discipline (Psychology) Hunter New England Mental Health, Psychotherapy Educator with the HNE Psychiatry training program and Conjoint Associate Professor with the School of Psychology at the University of Newcastle. I’m the current chair of the APS Ethics committee and previous member of the Regional Rural and Remote Advisory Group. I sit on NSW Psychology Tribunals and Impaired Registrant Panels and am a previous chair of the Psychology Care and Assessment Committee. I a member of the NSW District Profession Advisory Group (Psychology), the psychology representative on the Clinical Advisory Council of the Mental Health Branch of the NSW Ministry of Health, Deputy Chair of the Clinical Excellence Commission’s Mental Health & Drug & Alcohol RCA Review Sub-Committee, and psychology lead for the Pathways into Community Living Initiative. I have an active interest in supervision and had previously been a supervision trainer for the Psychology Board of NSW.

Committee Member

Dr Diana Perre
Dr Diana Perre is a Melbourne-based Clinical Neuropsychologist. She is a Senior Clinician in Psychology working both in a major metropolitan public health service and operating a private practice in Melbourne’s western suburbs. Her area of clinical and research focus includes gero-neuropsychology, rehabilitation, and psychiatry. In addition to her role in the APS CCN National Committee, Diana is also a committee member of the newly formed Psychology in Public Sector Interest Group.