Acceptance and Commitment Therapy and Psychology

Committee Information


Dr Elizabeth Patton
Liz is a Clinical Psychologist with experience in rehabilitation, mood and anxiety disorders, trauma, neurological conditions, behavioural issues, relationship issues, and chronic pain.

Liz’s qualifications include a Doctor of Clinical Psychology and she holds membership with the College of Clinical Psychologists (MCCLP), Australian Pain Society, and the Association for Contextual and Behavioral Sciences. Liz also represents Interest Groups on the Advisory Council for the APS.

Liz has a young family and in her leisure time she enjoys yoga, cooking and travel. She is passionate about environmental issues, adopts a "zero waste" lifestyle, appreciates modern & minimalist design, great food and good company.


Position vacant


Mr Grant Dewar

Committee Member

Dr Rachael Sim

Committee Member

Mr Julian McNally
Julian McNally completed his Counselling Psychology Masters at Monash University in 1995. Since then he has worked as a psychologist in private practice and in prison, educational and community settings. After graduation he completed training in solution-oriented hypnosis and solution-oriented counselling. He first encountered Acceptance and Commitment therapy in 2003, and since then ACT has formed the basis of Julian’s practice. From 2006 he coordinated the Melbourne ACT Peer Supervision Group and he supervises other ACT practitioners in group and individual formats. In 2014 he founded The ACT of Living, Melbourne’s first dedicated centre for Acceptance and Commitment Therapy.

Committee Member

Mrs Sandra Norman-Barnes

Committee Member

Mr Charles Thermos