Military and Emergency Services and Psychology

Committee Information

The following members of the Interest Group Committee have been elected by the members of this Interest Group. Please feel free to contact the Interest Group Committee members with any queries or suggestions about the activities and events which they organise for members of this Interest Group around Australia.


Mr Damien Stewart
Damien is a private practice psychologist working on both the Sunshine Coast and in Brisbane, Queensland. Whilst having a passion for assisting athletes and other performers achieve their performance goals, Damien is particularly passionate about assisting athletes and performers struggling with clinical issues such as depression and anxiety. Outside of the Sporting Domain, Damien is passionate about working with Military & Emergency Services Personnel and people working with Chronic Pain.


Dr Tarmala Caple


Mr Murray Ashby

Committee Member

Ms Anita Savic

Committee Member

Dr Carolyn Deans
Carolyn is a clinical psychologist with a focus on military and veteran mental health, resilience interventions and trauma. She is currently the Mental Health Advisor at RSL Victoria.

Carolyn has worked as a uniform military psychologist for 20+ years including on military deployments. She has conducted trauma education and research, and consulted on managing staff in challenging work environments, transition from uniform service, and veteran mental health.

Carolyn is a researcher and Adjunct Senior Lecturer at Victoria University and previously worked at Phoenix Australia at the University of Melbourne.

Committee Member

Mrs Emily Jallat

Committee Member

Mr Bruce Van Haeften

Committee Member

Ms Raelene Hartman

Committee Member

Dr Loretta Poerio

Committee Member

Mr Julian Robinson