Psychologists for Peace

Committee Information

The following members of the Interest Group Committee have been elected by the members of this Interest Group. Please feel free to contact the Interest Group Committee members with any queries or suggestions about the activities and events which they organise for members of this Interest Group around Australia.


Dr Diane Bretherton
Di Bretherton is a Fellow of APS and has been involved in Psychologists for Peace since it was established in 1984. The history of the Interest Group is described in Peace Psychology in Australia, a Springer volume which she co-edited with Nikola Balvin in 2012. She was on the staff of the Psychology Department at Melbourne University for many years and became the Director of the International Conflict Resolution Centre there. Now retired from her position as an Honorary Professor at the University of Queensland she remains on the Faculty of the University of Nankai in China, as a Visiting Professor. Peace is a feature of everyday life, as well as international relationships, and she believes psychologists can use their professional skills and knowledge to help prevent violence and to promote peace in their different work contexts and specialities.


Prof Ann Sanson
Ann Sanson is a developmental and community psychologist, and a Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society and the International Society for the Study of Behavioural Development. One of the early peace projects that she helped to organise was Letters to Leaders in 1987, in which over 30,000 Victorian school children wrote to a world leader of their choice about their hopes and fears for the future. Her current work focuses on the climate crisis as a peace issue, and how it will impact on current and future generations of children. She is now an Honorary Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne.


Prof Eleanor Wertheim
Eleanor Wertheim is a community psychologist and clinical psychologist in the Department of Psychology and Counselling at La Trobe University. She has a keen interest in promoting cooperative methods for addressing conflict, which she has done at many levels. These include being part of the Psychologists for Peace project, Enhancing Relationships in School Communities (ERIS), as well as contributing to the UN Institute for Training and Research Peacemaking and Conflict Prevention Programme, which trains UN staff, representatives from regional organisations and diplomats from around the world. In addition to publishing in the field of conflict resolution and forgiveness, Eleanor has enjoyed being part of creating numerous Psychologists for Peace materials such as posters and calendars on peace and conflict resolution topics, including the Wise Ways to Win series, and she helped to found the Psychologists for Peace student Peace Research Award.

NSW & ACT Coordinator

Mrs Alexandra Crawford

Website Editor & VIC Coordinator

Mr Kane Gough
Kane is a clinical psychologist who joined Psychologists for Peace in 2019.

WA Coordinator

Ms Laura Curelic

SA Coordinator

Ms Leonnie Blumson

QLD Coordinator

Ms Margot Trinder
Margot has been a member of Psychologists for Peace (PfP) since 1993. She worked as the Peace Education Coordinator at the APS, then moved to the University of Melbourne to coordinate the PfP Enhancing Relationships in School Communities (ERIS) projects. ERIS utilised many of the conflict resolution resources developed by PfP. Margot has been involved in the development of many of the PfP materials including posters, the Wise Ways to Win picture story book and professional development. Margot loves being part of PfP and working closely and regularly with other psychologists who are committed to using our psychological knowledge to promote peace at all levels.

QLD Coordinator

Dr Susannah Tipping

Student Representative

Miss Ariane Virgona

CPD and Events Finder

Position vacant