APS College of Clinical Psychologists

ACT Committee Information

Below are details of the current committee and vacancies. The APS is always on the look out for members who are interested in joining a Member Group committee, to help support and promote members, the profession, and the APS. For more information about joining a Member Groups committee, click here.

Have questions? Please feel free to contact committee members via PsyCommunity direct message here or reach out to APS Member Groups via [email protected].

Chair Elect

Mr Kane Pfingst


Position vacant


Dr Phillip Kavanagh
I completed my BSc(Hons) in Psychology in 2002, PhD in Psychology and PGDipClinPsych in 2008 at the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, NZ. I gained registration as a Clinical Psychologist in New Zealand, registration in Queensland as a psychologist in 2008, and endorsement as a Clinical Psychologist in 2011. I became a member of the APS in August 2010, the Clinical College in November 2011, and have been a board approved supervisor since 2009.
I have experience in teaching across undergraduate and postgraduate courses, and supervising honours, master’s and PhD research, running clinical psychology master’s courses/programs, and in leadership (Head of Psychology). My current position at UC is Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology and Discipline Lead of Psychology.
Alongside my academic positions I have been working in private practice since 2011 and have supervised provisional psychologists on internship through to general registration and on the clinical registrar program.


Dr Elizabeth Huxley

Committee Member - Early Career Rep

Ms Samantha Jugovac
Ms Samantha Jugovac is currently enrolled in the Doctor of Philosophy (Clinical Psychology) Degree at the Australian National University.
Samantha is completing her PhD research on the effects of parenting interventions for children and adolescents with internalising and externalising behaviours.
Samantha has conducted clinical training with persons across the lifespan although has a particular interest in working with children and families.

Committee Member - Events Coordinator

Dr Jeannie Higgins
A clinical psychologist engaged in mentoring and transformational change at every level. Jean ran a practice for 25 years with a strong focus on evolving with trauma. She is serving as a new committee member of the Clinical College - ACT working on CPD facilitation.

Jean is a feminist with explicit social and environmental advocacy values. She has 40 years of clinical, research, community and policy experience. This includes acute psychiatry, community health, developmental challenges, university teaching, alternative care for adolescents, and shop front and country outreach services for war veterans and their families. Assessing and evaluating prevention and intervention programs across the country broadened and deepened her professional experience. She has been an executive committee member for the ASTSS and a representative for the public education committee for ISTSS.

Jean is also into being a granny, learning, bushwalking, yoga, meditation, kayaking, gardening and the arts.